Friday 28 March:
Calstock Arts Classics : Michael Petrov and Anthony Hewitt

The final concert of the new Calstock Arts Classics season features gifted young cellist Michael Petrov, accompanied by season curator Anthony Hewitt on piano.

As a soloist Michael has performed Prokofiev’s Sinfonia Concertante at the Barbican conducted by Gianandrea Noseda and appeared with the London Mozart Players and Munich Chamber Orchestra.

Engagements this season include a recital at Wigmore Hall and performances of the Dvorák Concerto with the Philharmonia Orchestra and Tchaikovsky Rococo Variations with the English Chamber Orchestra. Michael has been selected as the European Concert Halls Organisation Rising Star, representing the UK during its 2014/15 season.

Michael plays a Testore cello (c.1740) on generous loan from a private individual.

“Petrov played with communicative vibrancy ….. well able to dazzle in the most-virtuosic of passages and in the middle movement’s stunning cadenza”.

See Michael here

Programme details

Franz Schubert: Sonata for Cello and Piano, D.821 in A Major ‘Arpeggione’ (1824)

1.Allegro moderato

Robert Schumann: 3 Phantasiestücke Op.73 (1849)
1.Zart und mit Ausdruck
2.Lebhaft, leicht
3.Rasch und mit Feuer

Cesar Franck: Sonata for Violin and Piano in A Major M.8 (1886)

1.Allegretto ben moderato
3.Recitativo: Fantasia
4.Allegretto poco mosso

Frederic Chopin: Polonaise Brilliante Op. 3 (1830)

£13 advance, £14 door, £6 under 18s.
£1 reduction for FCA.

Click here for tickets.

Box Office telephone number 01726 879500

Tickets also available from Levines in Calstock.

Doors and bar 7.00pm, start time 8.00pm